Congratulations to our Undergraduate Award Winners 2015-2016

Published: August 18, 2016

Richard Reeve Essay Prize:

Laura Flores, “Demistificando a la Malinche” (van Delden/ Spanish 191c)

José Rubia Barcia Essay Prize:

José Orejel, “Vasconcelos y Martí: unidad, fortaleza y debilidad” (Torrecilla/ Spanish 140)

Carroll Johnson Outstanding Seniors Award:

José Orejel

Rocío Betzabe Flores Huaringa



The Department of Spanish and Portuguese’s annual Spring Essay Prizes in the amount of $250 are presented to undergraduate students with a declared major or minor in one of our programs. Prizes are awarded for the best academic papers written initially for an upper-division course taken in the previous Spring, Winter, or Fall quarters. Papers submitted for consideration should be between 8 and 15 pages in length and are due May 15th to the undergraduate advisor. The recipients are selected by a faculty committee and announced at the end of the Spring Quarter at a special end-of-year department reception.